Brambly Hedge, Jill Barklem
Brambly Hedge
Brambly Hedge by Jill Barklem

When I first heard of books by Jill Barklem, I was discouraged by someone saying that they were “like Beatrix Potter’s books”. I have nothing against Beatrix Potter, quite contrary, I like her books a lot, I just don’t like the idea of something being “like something else”. Luckily, I came across Brambly Hedge books again, and, at that time, I looked into the subject more closely. The books by Jill Barklem have a distinct, one-of-a-kind atmosphere, which can only be known when you dive into one of the volumes by yourself. I would recommend doing it with all my heart. They are lovely little books with breathtaking pictures by the author. You can read them separately and it does not matter in what sequence. The every day mouse life of those living in Brambly Hedge is described in 8 books written in 1980 – 1994 (one would think these are 19th century stories, but no!): Spring Story, Summer Story, Autumn Story, Winter Story, The Secret Staircase, The High Hills, Sea Story, Poppy’s Babies. They are all worth reading and their lovely illustrations speak for themselves.

The Secret Staircase, Jill Barklem


Spring Story, Jill Barklem
Winter Story, Jill Barklem
Winter Story, Jill Barklem